Saturday, 19 January 2008

Saturday's CIS Action

8 PM Bishop's (6-9, 2-5) at Laval (12-8, 6-2) The Gaiters try to bounce back from a tough home loss to UQAM in which they committed 25 turnovers and 21 fouls while Laval is riding a six game league winning streak and playing by far the best basketball of their season and in the "Q". 6'1" Junior Nicolas, who had a tremendous first half of the season, hopes to bounce back from last night's lacklustre effort in which he was in foul trouble. Laval's 6'7" J.P. Morin continues to dominate each night and 6'3" J.F. Beaulieu-Mahieux is now "playing even better than last season" according to Laval coach Jacques Paiement. Game is available via Les Rouge et Or audio webcast en francais

3 PM Western (12-9, 5-7) at Guelph (13-6, 8-4) The Mustangs need this road win to have any hope of finishing in one of the top 2 spots in the OUA West. This is the first meeting of the season between these two teams.

3 PM Waterloo (7-15, 4-9) at Laurier (8-13, 5-7) The cross-town rivalry pits two teams fighting for a playoff spot with the Warriors in a more desperate mode after their loss at Brock in which they shot under 20% from 3.

4 PM Windsor (12-5, 8-4) at Brock (13-10, 8-4) Two of the top teams in the conference meet in St. Catharines in a potential OUA West final preview. Home teams need to take care of business, especially in games among the Lancers, Badgers and Gryphons, as the teams vie for first round byes. Video webcast on SSN

8 PM McMaster (11-8, 6-6) at Lakehead (8-11, 6-7) After last night's come-from-behind win in Thunder Bay in which 6'2" freshman Tyrell Vernon had 19 points and 5'10" veteran Jason Scully knocked down 4 3's, the Marauders can join the battle for one of two first-round byes with another win. Mac did a fine job defensively on Lakehead's pair of high-scoring U.S. imports as 6'4" Kiraan Posey, the OUA West's leading scorer and 6'6" Warren Thomas combined to go 11 for 32 from the floor including 4-16 from downtown. The T-Wolves need one or both to rebound with a better game tonight. Listen LIVE! on LakeheadRadio or via McMaster radio 93.3 CFMU. The game can also be seen on a pay-per-view basis

4 PM UPEI (6-15, 5-5) at Acadia (15-4, 9-1) The Panthers have one solid road win at Dal which came before the holidays and a win today in Wolfville will be their biggest of the season. The Axemen have been very good in AUS league play and lead the conference currently in advance of tomorrow's showdown, also at home against Cape Breton.
8 PM UNB (3-20, 0-11) at Saint Mary's (17-7, 6-4) The inconsistent Huskies look to push back up toward the top of the AUS standings at home against the winless Varsity Reds.

8 PM Queen's (15-7, 9-4) at Toronto (19-6, 10-3) The feature matchup in the OUA East as the Gaels try to avenge a 10 point home loss two weeks ago. Queen's continues to play without a pair of veterans out with injuries in 6'1" Baris Ondul and 6'3" Ryan Hairsine. A victory would be put the Blues two games clear of the Gaels with the tie-breaker advantage. Both teams play intelligent offense and defend and rebound so expect a game in the mid-60's with good shooting, few turnovers and each possession being very important.
8 PM Carleton (19-0, 13-0) at Laurentian (3-19, 2-11) LIVE STATS
8 PM Ottawa (17-5, 11-2) at York (4-19, 2-11) This game apparently is available on Rogers Cable TV in both Toronto and Ottawa. Ottawa's 6'2" freshman guard Jacob Gibson-Bascombe re-injured his foot yesterday and left the game after only about 3 minutes of play.
8 PM RMC (0-20, 0-13) at Ryerson (5-17, 4-9)

8 PM CT/9 PM ET #2 Calgary (17-4, 13-2) at #5 Brandon (18-6, 13-2) Two of Canada's top teams tangle in Brandon and expect an up-tempo affair with both teams putting out their athleticism on display. The guard matchup of emerging 6'2" Jeff Price and 6'1" Yul Michel should be a dandy while both teams have size and strength inside. 6'3" Dany Charlery is a proven difference maker and the Dinos ability to match up with his blend of perimeter skill and ability to get to the rim may be the difference in the game. The game can be seen live across Western Manitoba on WCG-TV.

8 PM CT/9 PM ET Lethbridge (1-17, 0-15) at Regina (9-9, 7-8) LIVE STATS!
7 PM MT/9 PM ET Simon Fraser (10-11, 9-8) at Saskatchewan (14-9, 8-7)
7 PM PT/10 PM ET Winnipeg (10-11, 7-8) at Thompson Rivers (3-16, 2-15) Webcast
8 PM MT/10 PM ET Trinity Western (6-11, 6-11) at Alberta (15-6, 10-5) U of A audio webcast
8 PM PT/11 PM ET Manitoba (7-15, 4-11) at UCFV (8-12, 7-10)

No comments: