Friday, 25 January 2008

Friday Night's CIS Schedule

Feature games from across the country include Alberta (11-5) visiting Saskatchewan (9-7) for the first of two weekend games and a battle of the Smart brothers in Kingston as the Queen's Golden Gaels (9-5) host #1 Carleton Ravens (14-0). UVic (12-5), coming off a home loss to UBC last week, travels to Simon Fraser (9-9) with the Vikes needing a win to stay within striking distance of the first-place T-Birds.

Plenty of coverage over the Internet including Dal at UPEI on Pathers TV.

AUS
8:00 pm AT/ 7 PM ET Dalhousie (11-12, 5-6) at UPEI (6-17, 5-7) Both teams are comfortably in the AUS tournament and are vying for the fifth seed. UPEI split a pair of games with Dal before the holidays in Halifax. Game can be seen on Panther TV

QUEBEC
8:00 pm Laval (13-8, 7-2) at UQAM (4-8, 3-5) Both teams are on winning streaks with Le Rouge et Or having won 7 straight while the Citadins, getting better production from their core group of veterans, have won 3 straight and are now in the fourth and final playoff spot in the "Q". The game can be heard with Alex Tourigny on Citadins radio CHOQ FM

8:00 pm Concordia (10-5, 4-3) at Bishop's (6-10, 2-6) Both teams have hit rough patches with the Stingers still reeling from the season-ending injury to 6'3" Dwayne Buckley while Bishop's have lost 6 in a row after a solid start. The teams met earlier this season in Lennoxville with the Stingers holding on for a one-point win after the Gaiters could not convert on a last second shot.

OUA EAST
A pair of important games in the OUA East tonight as the Smart brothers tangle in Kingston as Dave Smart's Ravens look to continue their winning streak against older brother Rob Smart's Queen's Golden Gaels. The Gaels are in the thick of things in the East despite losing a raft of players to graduation after last season, getting an all-conference-type season from 6'3" Simon Mitchell. Meanwhile, the suddenly-energized York Lions look to climb the standings playing at home against Ryerson, who they trail by 2 1/2 games in the standings (3 in the loss column). York needs a sweep against the Rams to have any hope of finishing 5th.

8:00 pm #7 Ottawa (18-5, 12-2) at RMC (0-21, 0-14)

8:00 pm #1 Carleton (20-0, 14-0) at Queen's (15-8, 9-5) The Gaels try to end a long losing streak to the Ravens - Carleton has not lost to Queen's in Dave Smart's tenure as Head Coach (although Queen's did defeat Carleton when Smart's one and only season as an assistant at Carleton). Expect a large crowd at the Bartlett Gym and plenty of 3's to rain on the gym. Game Preview from Kingston Whig-Standard

8:00 pm #6 Toronto (20-6, 11-3) at Laurentian (3-20, 2-12) The Vees playoff hopes took a turn for the worse with a decisive home loss to York on Wednesday and they need to bounce back against the talented Blues. LIVE STATS

8:00 pm Ryerson (6-17, 5-9) at York (5-20, 3-12) The Lions have come on lately after dominating at Laurentian on Wednesday and a pair of closer-than-they-looked games against Ottawa and Carleton. 6'3" Amde Evans has become more of a factor offensively while 6'3" Tut Ruach can carry a team at any point in a game. The Rams are comfortably in fifth place but with a win York can move to within 2 games in the loss column. A Ryerson win tonight all but clinches fifth for the Rams.

OUA WEST
8:00 pm Lakehead (9-11, 7-7) at #8 Windsor (13-5, 9-4) The T-Wolves hit the road after going 2-2 in 4 home games during the past 2 weekends. With a pair of road wins, Lakehead can move into the race for a first-round playoff bye. Windsor comes off 3 straight impressive road wins and is difficult to beat at home.

CANADA WEST
8:00 pm PT/ 11 PM ET #9 UBC (15-4, 13-4) at Trinity Western (6-12, 6-12) A win by UBC puts them closer to clinching first place in the Pacific where they hold a one-game lead plus the tie-breaker with UVic with only 6 games remaining. TWU is two games behind Fraser Valley in the battle for the fourth and final playoff spot and is entering "must win" territory. Spartan Web Radio also Wilson Wong hosts on UBC radio

8:00 pm MT/10 PM ET Thompson Rivers (3-17, 2-16) at Lethbridge (1-18, 0-16) Two teams destined to miss the playoffs meet in Lethbridge.

8:00 pm MT/10 PM ET UCFV (9-12, 8-10) at #4 Calgary (17-5, 13-3) The Dinos look to move closer to clinching the Central Division crown at home against the Cascades.

8:00 pm MT/10 PM ET #10 Alberta (16-6, 11-5) at Saskatchewan (15-9, 9-7) With a weekend sweep, the Huskies can move into a tie for second place with the Bears and will hold the tie-breaker, having defeated Alberta once in Edmonton. Preview from huskiehoops.com

8:00 pm CT/9 PM ET Regina (10-9, 8-8) at Winnipeg (11-11, 8-8) This is the battle for second place and home court advantage in the Great Plains division semi-finals. The teams are currently deadlocked at 8-8 each.

8:15 pm PT/ 11:15 PM ET Victoria (13-10, 12-5) at Simon Fraser (10-12, 9-9) Simon Fraser sits one game ahead of UCFV in the battle for third place while UVic chases UBC for first place in the Pacific Division. The first of two weekend games between the rivals, both in Burnaby Simon Fraser webcast

8:15 pm CT/9:15 PM ET #3 Brandon (19-6, 14-2) at Manitoba (7-16, 4-12) Brandon has clinched first in the Great Plains division while the Bisons ar eut of playoff contention unless they win out. Expect a high scoring affair that could reach into the 100's.

1 comment:

pistol pete said...

It was stated here that Dave Smart spent but one season as assistant under Paul Armstrong before assuming control.
I am almost positive that Dave did in fact serve two seasons as an assistant beginning in 97-98.
He assumed the reigns in the 99-00 season.
For most Carleton fans, the "Dave Smart Era" began in the year 2000 when Dave's nephews joined the team and the Ravens have been flying in the stratosphere ever since.