Friday, 15 February 2008

Canada West Playoff Previews

Canada West playoffs open up on four fronts this coming weekend with the most intriguing matchup in the CENTRAL DIVISION in Edmonton as the Alberta Golden Bears host Saskatchewan Huskies meet in the playoffs for the fifth consecutive season. The Huskies and Bears have met in the playoffs in every season in the Andrew Spagrud era, with the Huskies winning the head-to-head playoff series in each of the past 2 seasons after the Bears had won the previous two seasons. Each team has won on each other's home court as well. To show how tightly these teams stack up, the season series ended 2-2 this season with each team winning a game on the other's home court. Each team has a probable Canada West all-star with 6'2" Alex Steele, who averaged 20 ppg vs. the Huskies this season, leading the way for the Bears while the incomparable Spagrud (20.5 ppg, 12.0 rpg vs. Alberta this season) being the main man for Saskatchewan. The winner of this series faces Calgary in the Central Division final. The Gateway has a solid preview article Bears to welcome familiar foes as well as U of A Preview article plus Preview from All 3 games can be heard LIVE! on the Golden Bears radio network. The schedule for the Best-of-3 series is as follows:
Friday: Saskatchewan at Alberta, 7 PM MT/9 PM ET
Saturday: Saskatchewan at Alberta, 7 PM MT/9 PM ET
Sunday: Saskatchewan at Alberta, 4 PM MT/6 PM ET (if necessary)

In the PACIFIC DIVISION, UCFV travels to UBC for a Best-of-3 series. The T-Birds swept the three game series during the regular season including a win on the final weekend of the season in Abbotsford. This is Fraser Valley's first-ever appearance in the CIS post-season. UBC Site Preview plus Cascades Preview Listen to all 3 games on 101.9 CiTR FM

Friday: UCFV at UBC 8 p.m. PT/11 PM ET at War Memorial
Saturday: UCFV at UBC 7 p.m. PT/10 PM ET at War Memorial
Sunday: UCFV at UBC 7 p.m. PT/10 PM ET at War Memorial

Simon Fraser at Victoria The Vikes took 2 of 3 from the Clan in the regular season, losing the third game on a Saturday afternoon in the second of a back-to-back in Burnaby. 6'7" Mitch Gudgeon has feasted on the Clan this season, averaging 21.3 ppg in the three meetings including a career-high 34 point effort in the first game in Victoria. Simon Fraser's all-conference candidate big man 6'8" Greg Wallis has averaged a double/double of 17.8 ppg/10 rpg in the three meetings, while 6'4" guard Sean Burke chipped in with 12.7 ppg. 6'1" Brandon Dunlop of Vic averaged 14.3 ppg while Vikes star forward 6'6" Tyler Hass has been held in check by the Clan, averaging only about 8 ppg in the three meetings.

Friday: Simon Fraser at UVic (McKinnon Gym) - 7pm PT/10 PM ET
Saturday: Simon Fraser at UVic (McKinnon Gym) - 7pm PT/10 PM ET
Sunday: Simon Fraser at UVic (McKinnon Gym) - 3pm PT/ 6 PM ET (if necessary)
All games can be seen LIVE! via Vikes Broadcast Network

Winnipeg at Regina The Wesmen head to Regina to take on the Cougars in the best of three Great Plains Division semi-final beginning on Saturday night at 7:00 p.m. Regina has taken 3 of the 4 league games played this season between the two teams including both games before Christmas in Regina. This series starts on Saturday and the winner goes on to Brandon next weekend to face the Bobcats in the Great Plains division final. Follow the games on Regina LIVE STATS!

Saturday: Winnipeg at Regina 7 PM CT/8 PM ET
Sunday: Winnipeg at Regina 7 PM CT/8 PM ET
Monday: Winnipeg at Regina 2 PM CT/3 PM ET

No comments: