Sunday, 18 October 2009

House-Laughton Recap

Carleton Ravens Men’s Basketball team wins the 20th Annual House-Laughton Hoops Classic.
Carleton Ravens capture 9th Straight House-Laughton Hoops Classic. Defeat Saskatchewan Huskies, 97-79, in Finals.

Bishop’s Gaiters take 3rd Place with 80-65 victory over UPEI Panthers.

Championship Game
The Carleton University Ravens (OUA) successfully defended its House-Laughton Hoops Classic crown with a 97-79 victory over the University of Saskatchewan Huskies (CWUAA). The Ravens now have won 9 consecutive House-Laughton titles and 27 consecutive games in the annual Men’s Basketball tournament.

The game was very entertaining as Saskatchewan kept pace with Carleton for the majority of the game. While the Ravens never trailed in the game, the Huskies kept fighting their way back into the final and made the game interesting as they hit several key shots to keep Carleton to a ten-point lead until late in the third quarter when the Ravens opened a 19-point lead which would end up an 18-point victory.

Carleton was led by Kevin McCleery, Ottawa, Ontario’s 21-point performance and Eliott Thompson’s (Fredericton, NB) 19-points. Cole Hobin, Ashton, Ontario and Anthony Ashe, Stittsville, Ontario both chipped in with 13-points each. Thompson led Carleton with 6-total rebounds as the Ravens out rebounded Saskatchewan 30 to 28 for the game.

The Huskies were led by Showron Glover, Fresno, California and Trevor Nerdahl, Elmira, Ontario with 16-points each. Michael Lieffers, Saskatoon, Sk led the Huskies with 11-total rebounds.

U Sask 15 23 21 20 = 79 (2-1)
Ravens 22 28 28 19 = 97 (3-0)

Top Scorers:
Ravens: McCleery 21-points/ Sask: Glover & Nerdahl 16-points each

Team Rebounds:
Ravens: 12+18=30/ Sask 10+18=28

3rd Place Game
The Bishop’s University Gaiters (QSSF) defeated the UPEI Panthers (AUS), 80-65, to finish third at the 20th House-Laughton Hoops Classic. The Gaiters and Panthers battle hard in the first half, with the game tied at 34 at the half. IN the second half, the Gaiters came out strong and open a 7-point lead after three quarters of play and would go onto win the 3rd Place game by 15-points, 80-65.

The Gaiters were led by Damon Anderson-Thomas, Verdun, Quebec with a team high 16-point performance and 9-total Rebounds. Jamil Abiad, Ottawa, Ontario and Tim McAleenan, Sussex, NB each added 13-points in the victory over UPEI. The Gaiters out rebounded the Panthers 33 to 32 for the game.

UPEI’s top scorer was Manock Lual, Ottawa, Ontario with a game high 26-points and 9-total rebounds.

UPEI 9 25 13 18 = 65 (2-1)
Bishop’s 17 17 20 26 = 80 (1-2)

Top Scorers:
UPEI: Lual 26-points/ Bishop’s Anderson-Thomas 16-points

Team Rebounds:
UPEO 13+19=32 / Bishop’s 14+19=33

20th Annual House-Laughton Hoops Classic Tournament All-Star Team & Most Valuable Player

MVP: Kevin McCleery, Carleton U Ravens

Eliott Thompson, Carleton U Ravens
Trevor Nerdahl, U Saskatchewan Huskies
Showron Glover, U Saskatchewan Huskies
Manock Lual, UPEI Panthers
Damon Thomas-Anderson, Bishop’s U Gaiters

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

While it is true Carleton has won nine straight House-Laughton tournaments dating back to Oct 2001, the Ravens do not have a 27 game winning streak in that tournament.
Carleton last lost their own tournament in 2000, when they lost in OT to the Alberta Golden Bears.
The Ravens won the next three tournaments from 2001-03, going 9-0 in the process.
However, in 2004 the Ravens lost 56-55 to Victoria in their opening game of that tournament, on Oct 15 2004.
Fortunately for the Ravens, they wound up in a three way tie with Victoria and Laval at 2-1 and took the title on point differential.
UNB finished last at 0-3.
THAT was the last time Carleton lost a game in their own tournament.
The actual winning streak Carleton has in the House-Laughton stands at 17-0.
These facts can be verified by checking Bob Adams, clicking on the 04-05 season, then clicking on "Tourneys/Tours"
Incidentally, that loss to Victoria was the only one suffered by Carleton by a CIS team that season.
Carleton finished the year 34-1 against CIS opponents en route to a third straight national title.