Sunday, 6 March 2011

Lakehead puts up a Championship Banner

Congratulations to Coach Scott Morrison and the Lakehead Thunderwolves for capturing their first OUA Wilson Cup championship ever with a superlative defensive effort against previously-undefeated Carleton Ravens.  Kitch McPherson Trophy winner Jamie Searle shook off a lacklustre offensive effort against uOttawa in the semi-final on Friday with a 22 point performance to take MVP honours while Ben Johnson again lit it up in bunches from the perimeter and Yoosrie Salhia and others combined to disrupt Carleton offensively, especially when the ball got in the post.  Lakehead showed that defensively they are among the very best teams in the nation and should get a favorable seeding tonight when the CIS Final 8 first round pairings are announced.

OUA hoops crown heads north   Mike Bennett Thunder Bay Chronicle-Journal

Wolves stun Ravens, win OUA championship  Leith Dunick, TB Newswatch

Carleton suffers double defeat  Ottawa Citizen


No comments: