Wednesday, 12 August 2009

New Look to Canada West Schedule/Playoff Format

This was announced toward the end of last season but thanks to Calgary's Wayne Thomas we now have a clear, simply explained picture of the new Canada West regular season schedule and eight-team playoff format. Much thanks to Wayne again... explained in the context of the Dinos season.


Canada West has reconfigured their divisions for the upcoming 2009-10 season, with the former three division set-up replaced by the West - East Divisions placing the 6 B.C. schools together and the other 8 programs from Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba matching up in the East. This means moving away from the 4 game series with the Dinos previous Central Division rivals, the U of A Bears, the Saskatchewan Huskies, and the Lethbridge Pronghorns.

The new schedule will have Calgary play all the East Division teams twice, either at home or away. So, for example, this season, the Dinos will host Alberta, but not travel to Edmonton to play Canada West games. They are also at home to Winnipeg and Regina within the Division, plus they host single games with UBC, Victoria, Fraser Valley, and Thompson Rivers from the West Division.

Their 10 away games include 2 game sets with Saskatchewan, Lethbridge, Brandon, and Manitoba within the East Division, and single games at Trinity Western and Simon Fraser in the West.

The playoffs will have 4 East teams, 3 West teams and a wildcard in a cross-over quarter-finals schedule.


Anonymous said...

I recently came accross your blog and have been reading along. I thought I would leave my first comment. I dont know what to say except that I have enjoyed reading. Nice blog. I will keep visiting this blog very often.


Anonymous said...

As a Golden Bears fan, this sucks...we don't even get to see Calgary!!